Loyola University Chicago

Loyola University Chicago

University Newsroom


Media Contact:
Elisabeth Brookover
Communication Director
Loyola University Chicago School of Law

Loyola University Chicago School of Law Establishes Professorships to Honor the Late Illinois
Supreme Court Chief Justice Mary Ann G. McMorrow
Inaugural Professorships Will Support Research and Scholarship That Advocate for Justice   

CHICAGO, May 3, 2018Loyola University Chicago’s School of Law named two distinguished faculty as Mary Ann G. McMorrow Professors of Law. The inaugural professorships were established to support meaningful research and scholarship that exemplify the extraordinary legal career of Loyola alumna Mary Ann McMorrow (JD ’53), the first woman to head any branch of Illinois government.

McMorrow, who earned her JD from Loyola in 1953, was the only woman in her graduating law class. During her time at the University, she was elected class president and was an editor of the Loyola Law Journal. After graduation, she served as an assistant state’s attorney in Cook County, where she became the first woman to prosecute major felony cases. She was the first woman to sit on the Illinois Supreme Court, and the first woman to serve as the court’s chief justice.

“These prestigious professorships will honor Justice Mary Ann McMorrow by advancing her tireless work as an advocate for justice,” said Michael J. Kaufman, JD, dean of the School of Law. “Her legacy inspires us all to reach beyond our potential, to fight for gender equality, to work on behalf of the vulnerable, and to make the world a more humane place to be.”

The following faculty members have been named Mary Ann G. McMorrow Professors of Law:

“The Mary Ann G. McMorrow distinguished award in honor of a trailblazer in the legal community, especially for women, will allow me to continue my research in the areas of domestic violence and sexual assault,” said Harris. “It is my distinct privilege to receive this recognition from the McMorrow family.”

The faculty scholars will assume the title of Mary Ann G. McMorrow Professors effective immediately.

“It is an honor to receive a professorship in the name of an outstanding pathbreaker for women in law,” said Moses. “Mary Ann G. McMorrow is an inspiring role model for all women and men who work for justice through the rule of law.”

About Loyola University Chicago School of Law
Loyola’s School of Law has been educating students across the country and around the world for more than 100 years. The school offers full- and part-time Juris Doctor programs, with specialized certificates available in advocacy, child and family law, health law, international law and practice, public interest law, tax law, and transactional law. For attorneys pursuing advanced legal education, the school offers Master of Laws programs in advocacy, child and family law, rule of law for development, tax law, and international law for foreign lawyers, as well as online programs in business, global competition law, and health law. In addition, the school offers a Master of Jurisprudence program in rule of law for development and online programs for non-attorney professionals in business and compliance, child and family law, health law, and global competition law. Online certificates programs in school discipline reform and privacy law are also available. To learn more about the school, visit LUC.edu/law or follow us on Twitter via @LoyolaLaw.

About Loyola University Chicago
Founded in 1870, Loyola University Chicago is one of the nation’s largest Jesuit, Catholic universities, with more than 16,600 students. Nearly 11,500 undergraduates call Loyola home. The University has four campuses: three in the greater Chicago area and one in Rome, Italy, as well as course locations in Saigon-Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam; Vernon Hills, Illinois (Cuneo Mansion and Gardens); and a Retreat and Ecology Campus in Woodstock, Illinois. The University features 13 schools, colleges, and institutes, including the Quinlan School of Business, Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing, Stritch School of Medicine, College of Arts and Sciences, School of Communication, School of Continuing and Professional Studies, School of Education, School of Law, School of Social Work, Graduate School, Institute of Pastoral Studies, Institute of Environmental Sustainability, and Arrupe College of Loyola University Chicago. Ranked a top national university by U.S. News & World Report, Loyola is also among a select group of universities recognized for community service and engagement by prestigious national organizations like the Carnegie Foundation and the Corporation for National and Community Service. To learn more about Loyola, visit LUC.edu, “like” us at Facebook.com/LoyolaChicago, or follow us on Twitter via @LoyolaChicago or @LoyolaNewsroom.

– Loyola –



LOYOLA UNIVERSITY CHICAGO · 1032 W. Sheridan Rd., Chicago, IL 60660 · 773.274.3000

Notice of Non-discriminatory Policy