Loyola University Chicago

Loyola University Chicago

University Newsroom


Media Contact:

Evangeline Politis
Communication Specialist
Loyola University Chicago

Loyola University Chicago Non-Tenure-Track Faculty
Vote to Ratify Collective Bargaining Agreements
with SEIU Local 73
Three-Year Agreements Provide Significant Pay Increases
and Enhanced Job Security for Full- and Part-Time
Non-Tenure-Track Faculty

CHICAGO, April 27, 2018—Loyola University Chicago announced today that non-tenure-track faculty in the College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) and English Language Learning Program (ELLP) have voted overwhelmingly to ratify their respective three-year collective bargaining agreements negotiated via Service Employees International Union (SEIU) Local 73. The final step is for the University’s Board of Trustees to formally approve the agreements which is expected to occur by mid-June.

“We are pleased to have secured this agreement with our non-tenure-track faculty, who are integral to the fabric of our academic community,” said Jo Ann Rooney, JD, LLM, EdD, president of Loyola University Chicago. “These agreements provide highly competitive pay and greater job security for our full- and part-time non-tenure-track faculty. We are grateful to all of our faculty and staff for continuing to put our students first throughout the negotiation process.”

The agreements with CAS and ELLP SEIU-represented faculty extend through June 30, 2021. They:

Additional information related to the SEIU negotiations and tentative agreements can be found at LUC.edu/bargaining.

About Loyola University Chicago
Founded in 1870, Loyola University Chicago is one of the nation’s largest Jesuit, Catholic universities, with more than 16,600 students. Nearly 11,500 undergraduates call Loyola home. The University has four campuses: three in the greater Chicago area and one in Rome, Italy, as well as course locations in Saigon-Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam; Vernon Hills, Illinois (Cuneo Mansion and Gardens); and a Retreat and Ecology Campus in Woodstock, Illinois. The University features 13 schools, colleges, and institutes, including the Quinlan School of Business, Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing, Stritch School of Medicine, College of Arts and Sciences, School of Communication, School of Continuing and Professional Studies, School of Education, School of Law, School of Social Work, Graduate School, Institute of Pastoral Studies, Institute of Environmental Sustainability, and Arrupe College of Loyola University Chicago. Ranked a top national university by U.S. News & World Report, Loyola is also among a select group of universities recognized for community service and engagement by prestigious national organizations like the Carnegie Foundation and the Corporation for National and Community Service. To learn more about Loyola, visit LUC.edu, “like” us at Facebook.com/LoyolaChicago, or follow us on Twitter via @LoyolaChicago or @LoyolaNewsroom.

– Loyola –



LOYOLA UNIVERSITY CHICAGO · 1032 W. Sheridan Rd., Chicago, IL 60660 · 773.274.3000

Notice of Non-discriminatory Policy