Loyola University Chicago

Loyola University Chicago

University Newsroom


Media Contact:
Evangeline Politis
Communication Specialist


 Loyola University Chicago
2017 Commencement Speakers


Loyola University Chicago is pleased to announce the individuals who will address graduates at the University’s 147th annual Commencement ceremonies, which will be held May 9–13, May 20, and August 12 at the Lake Shore Campus. Further ceremony details can be found at LUC.edu/commencement.


May 9
School of Education
Claudio Sanchez
Education Correspondent, National Public Radio 

The Graduate School and Institute of Pastoral Studies
Mary Frances Berry, PhD
Author, Activist, and Geraldine R. Segal Professor of American Social Thought and History, University of Pennsylvania

May 10
Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing
Cathy Catrambone, PhD, RN, FAAN
Associate Professor, Rush University College of Nursing, and President, Sigma Theta Tau International  

School of Social Work
The Honorable Thomas J. Dart (JD ’87)
Sheriff, Cook County, Illinois 

May 11
Quinlan School of Business
Edward J. Wehmer
President and CEO, Wintrust Financial Corporation

School of Communication and School of Continuing and Professional Studies
Trish Biondo-Soltys (BA ’89)
Chicago Media Veteran 

May 12
College of Arts and Sciences: Arts
*Wil Haygood
Pulitzer Prize Nominee, Author, and Reporter

College of Arts and Sciences: Sciences and Institute of Environmental Sustainability
*Cynthia A. O’Connell (BS ’81)
Brigadier General, United States Army (Ret.), Health Care Executive, and Educator

May 13
School of Law
Mary Meg McCarthy (JD ’89)
Executive Director, National Immigrant Justice Center, a Program of Heartland Alliance

May 20
Stritch School of Medicine
Pamela L. Wible, MD
Physician and Author 

August 12
Arrupe College
The Honorable Toni Preckwinkle
President, Cook County Board, Illinois 

* Indicates the individual will also be awarded an honorary degree

– Loyola –



LOYOLA UNIVERSITY CHICAGO · 1032 W. Sheridan Rd., Chicago, IL 60660 · 773.274.3000

Notice of Non-discriminatory Policy