Loyola University Chicago

Loyola University Chicago

University Newsroom


Media Contact:
Steve Christensen
Communications Manager

Loyola University Chicago Celebrates 2013 Founders’ Dinner
Annual Gala Event on June 8 to Honor 13 Award Recipients

CHICAGO, May 30, 2013 – Loyola University Chicago will celebrate its annual Founders’ Dinner on Saturday, June 8, at the University’s Lake Shore Campus (1032 W. Sheridan Rd.). The event, which celebrates the many alumni and members of the Loyola community who have used their education for the common good and have accomplished great things in the field of service, will recognize 13 award recipients as part of the celebration.

This year’s award recipients include Dr. Elaine M. Schuster (BA ’68)—Coffey Award and John J. Kurowski (JFRC ’73–’74, BA ’75)—Felice Award.

Additionally, Loyola’s schools and colleges also honor an alumnus/alumna with the Damen Award. This year’s winners include:

The Founders’ Dinner, which benefits the University’s Presidential Scholarship Fund, continues to be one of the major highlights of the year for members of the University community. Attendees will enjoy a cocktail reception in the newly built Arnold J. Damen, S.J., Student Center, dinner in the Joseph J. Gentile Arena, and entertainment provided by the University’s three a capella singing groups. For ticket information and more on the awards, please visit LUC.edu/founders or call 800.256.9652.

About Loyola University Chicago
Founded in 1870, Loyola University Chicago is one of the nation’s largest Jesuit, Catholic universities, with nearly 16,000 students. Almost 10,000 undergraduates hailing from all 50 states and 82 countries call Loyola home. The University has four campuses: three in the greater Chicago area and one in Rome, Italy, as well as course locations in Beijing, China; Saigon-Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam; Vernon Hills, Illinois (Cuneo Mansion and Gardens); and a Retreat and Ecology Campus in Woodstock, Illinois. The University features 10 schools and colleges, including the Quinlan School of Business, Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing, Stritch School of Medicine, College of Arts and Sciences, School of Communication, School of Continuing and Professional Studies, School of Education, School of Law, School of Social Work, and Graduate School. Consistently ranked a top national university by U.S.News & World Report, Loyola is also among a select group of universities recognized for community service and engagement by prestigious national organizations like the Carnegie Foundation and the Corporation for National and Community Service. To learn more about Loyola, visit LUC.edu, “like” us at Facebook.com/LoyolaChicago, or follow us on Twitter via @LoyolaChicago.




LOYOLA UNIVERSITY CHICAGO · 1032 W. Sheridan Rd., Chicago, IL 60660 · 773.274.3000

Notice of Non-discriminatory Policy