Loyola University Chicago

Loyola University Chicago

University Newsroom


Media Contact:
Steve Christensen
Communications Manager

Loyola University Chicago Celebrates 10 Years of Founders’ Dinner
Annual Gala Event on June 11 to Honor 16 Award Recipients

CHICAGO, May 12, 2011 – Loyola University Chicago will celebrate the 10th anniversary of its annual Founders’ Dinner on Saturday, June 11, on the University’s Lake Shore Campus (1032 W. Sheridan Rd.). The event, which celebrates the many alumni and members of the Loyola community who have used their education for the common good and have accomplished great things in the field of service, will recognize 16 award recipients as part of the celebration.

This year’s award recipients include General George A. Joulwan (MA’69) – President’s Medal, The Honorable Mary Ann Smith (BA ’85) – Coffey Award, James J. Faught (JD ’76) – Dux Mirabilis, and The Bernard Osher Foundation – Caritas Award.

Additionally, Loyola’s schools and colleges also honor an alumnus(a) with the Damen Award. This year’s winners include:

-College of Arts & Sciences – Weldon J. Rougeau (BS ’67)
-School of Business Administration – Michael D. Sullivan (BBA ’61)
-School of Communication – John J. Lane (BS ’55)
-School of Continuing & Professional Studies – Carlos X. Montoya (BA ’85)
-School of Education – Patrick S. McAndrew (BSEd ’87)
-The Graduate School – Dr. Annette Seegers (PhD ’84)
-School of Law – F. Vern Lahart (JD ’51)
-Stritch School of Medicine – Dr. Fern E. Asma (MD ’46)
Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing – Dr. Ann S. Blouin (MSN ’80)
-Institute of Pastoral Studies – Sr. Maura Twohig (MA ’95) & Sr. Mary M. Daly (MA ’95)
-School of Social Work – Elizabeth Wilson (MSW ’61)

The Founders’ Dinner, which benefits the University’s Presidential Scholarship Fund, continues to be one of the major highlights of the year for members of the University community. Attendees will enjoy a cocktail reception in the Richard J. Klarchek Information Commons, dinner in a grand tent on the campus beautiful East Quad, and a special chorus of Loyola students, staff, and alumni, who will perform with a live orchestra. For ticket information and more on the awards, please visit LUC.edu/founders or call 312.915.7662.

Fun Facts Highlighting 10 Years of Founders’ Dinner
-146 Number of alumni and friends honored
-Honorees hail from 15 states and five countries
-7,532 Attendees over 10 years
-Longest distance to accept an award is 8,400 miles (South Africa)
-Shortest distance to accept an award is mile (two blocks)
-It takes 35 workers six days to set up for the event, and only two days to tear it down

About Loyola University Chicago
Committed to preparing people to lead extraordinary lives, Loyola University Chicago, founded in 1870, is the nation’s largest Jesuit, Catholic university. Enrollment is nearly 16,000 students, which includes almost 10,000 undergraduates hailing from all 50 states and 82 countries. The University has four campuses: three in the greater Chicago area and one in Rome, Italy. Loyola also serves as the U.S. host university to The Beijing Center for Chinese Studies in Beijing, China and now features an academic center in Saigon-Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. Loyola’s 10 schools and colleges include arts and sciences, business administration, communication, education, graduate studies, law, medicine, nursing, continuing and professional studies, and social work. Loyola offers 71 undergraduate majors, 71 undergraduate minors, 85 master’s degrees, and 31 doctoral degrees. Loyola is consistently ranked among the “top national universities” by U.S.News & World Report, and the University is among a select group of universities recognized for community service and engagement by prestigious national organizations, such as the Carnegie Foundation and the Corporation for National and Community Service. For more information about Loyola, please visit LUC.edu.




LOYOLA UNIVERSITY CHICAGO · 1032 W. Sheridan Rd., Chicago, IL 60660 · 773.274.3000

Notice of Non-discriminatory Policy