Loyola University Chicago

Loyola University Chicago

University Newsroom


Media Contact:
Steve Christensen
Communications Manager

Loyola University Chicago Names 2010 Founders’ Dinner Award Winners
Honorees to Be Recognized at Annual Gala Event on June 19

CHICAGO, May 20, 2010 – Loyola University Chicago announces its 2010 Founders’ Dinner award recipients, who will be honored at an evening gala on Saturday, June 19, on the University’s Lake Shore Campus. Given annually, the prestigious Founders’ Dinner awards honor those who established Loyola, those who have built on that foundation, those who continue to give it life today, and those whose vision looks toward the future.

This year’s award recipients include the Rev. John P. Foley, S.J. (MRE ’78)-Heart of Loyola Award; Dr. Jacqueline P. Doud (BA ’62)-Coffey Award; Dr. Connie M. Knapp-Dux Mirabilis Award; and the Polk Bros. Foundation-Caritas Award.

Additionally, Loyola’s schools and colleges also honor an alumnus(a) with the Damen Award. This year’s winners include:

– College of Arts and Sciences – Charles A. Whittingham (BS ’51)
– School of Business Administration – Rocco J. Martino (MBA ’78)
– School of Education – Dr. Timothy M. Kanold (PhD ’02)
– The Graduate School – Sr. Rita Larivée, S.S.A. (PhD ’98)
– School of Law – Roger J. Kiley, Jr. (JD ’66)
– Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing – Dr. Helen K. Grace (BSN ’63)
– School of Social Work – Terri Buffalo Star Gardner (MSW ’07)
– Stritch School of Medicine – Dr. Todd S. Hewell III (BS ’75, MD ’78)
– School of Continuing and Professional Studies – Marie M. Ginther (BBA ’87)
– Institute of Pastoral Studies – Shirley A. Giacomi (MPS ’98, MDiv ’02)

Now in its ninth year, Founders’ Dinner, which benefits the University’s Presidential Scholarship Fund, continues to be one of the major highlights of the year for members of the University community. Attendees will be treated to a spectacular multi-course dinner amidst glittering décor, video tributes to awardees and Loyola’s many extraordinary alumni, and the unique musical performances of the Loyola Jazz Ensemble, Chris Sarlas Orchestra, and the special Founders’ Dinner Chorus. For ticket information and more on the award recipients, please visit LUC.edu/founders.

About Loyola University Chicago
Committed to preparing people to lead extraordinary lives, Loyola University Chicago, founded in 1870, is the nation’s largest Jesuit, Catholic university. Enrollment is more than 15,800 students, which includes more than 10,000 undergraduates hailing from all 50 states and 82 countries. The University has four campuses: three in the greater Chicago area and one in Rome, Italy. Loyola also serves as the U.S. host university to The Beijing Center for Chinese Studies in Beijing, China. Loyola’s 10 schools and colleges include arts and sciences, business administration, communication, education, graduate studies, law, medicine, nursing, continuing and professional studies, and social work. Loyola offers 71 undergraduate majors, 71 undergraduate minors, 85 master’s degrees, and 31 doctoral degrees. Loyola is consistently ranked among the “top national universities” by U.S.News & World Report, and the University was named a “best value” in its 2010 rankings. In addition, Loyola is among a select group of universities recognized for community service and engagement by prestigious national organizations, such as the Carnegie Foundation and the Corporation for National and Community Service. For more information about Loyola, please visit LUC.edu.




LOYOLA UNIVERSITY CHICAGO · 1032 W. Sheridan Rd., Chicago, IL 60660 · 773.274.3000

Notice of Non-discriminatory Policy