Loyola University Chicago

Loyola University Chicago

University Newsroom


Media Contact:
Steve Christensen
Communications Manager

Loyola University Chicago 2009 Commencement Speakers and Honorary Degree Recipients

The University’s 139th annual commencement exercises will take place May 7-9, 16, and June 7. All ceremonies are held in the Joseph J. Gentile Center on the University’s Lake Shore Campus, unless otherwise noted in parenthesis.


The Graduate School
May 7, 2009, at Noon

Dr. Juan Andrade, Jr
Community Leader and Executive Director, United States Hispanic Leadership Institute

School of Education
May 7, 2009, at 4 p.m.

Dr. Christopher Koch
Educator and State Superintendent, Illinois State Board of Education

College of Arts and Sciences – ARTS
May 8, 2009, at 10 a.m.

Paul Rusesabagina
Humanitarian and President, Hotel Rwanda Rusesabagina Foundation

College of Arts and Sciences – SCIENCES
May 8, 2009, at 3 p.m.

Reverend Terry Charlton, SJ
Educator, AIDS Activist, and Co-Founder of St. Aloysius Gonzaga High School in Nairobi, Kenya

School of Communication
May 8, 2009, at 7 p.m.

E.J. Dionne, Jr
Columnist, The Washington Post; Professor, Georgetown Public Policy Institute; and Senior Fellow, Brookings Institution

School of Business Administration
May 9, 2009, at 10 a.m.

Mary Tolan
Founder and CEO, Accretive Health

School of Continuing and Professional Studies
May 9, 2009, at 1 p.m. (Mundelein Center)

Dr. Jona Goldschmidt
Associate Professor, Department of Criminal Justice at Loyola University Chicago

School of Social Work
May 9, 2009, at 3 p.m.

Dr. Annamaria Campanini
Professor of Social Work, University of Milan and President European Association of Schools of Social Work

Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing
May 9, 2009, at 7 p.m.

Dr. Jean C. McSweeney
Professor and Associate Dean for Research, College of Nursing, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

School of Law
May 16, 2009, at 12:30 p.m.

John Cullerton
Senator, Illinois 6th District, and President, Illinois State Senate

Stritch School of Medicine
June 7, 2009, at Noon (Navy Pier Grand Ballroom)

Dr. Regina Benjamin
MacArthur Fellow (2008) and Founder and CEO, Bayou La Batre Rural Health Clinic, Bayou La Batre, Alabama

Honorary Degree Recipients

College of Arts and Sciences – ARTS
Paul Rusesabagina

College of Arts and Sciences – SCIENCES
Reverend Terry Charlton, SJ

The Graduate School
Dr. Juan Andrade, Jr

School of Social Work
Dr. Annamaria Campanini




LOYOLA UNIVERSITY CHICAGO · 1032 W. Sheridan Rd., Chicago, IL 60660 · 773.274.3000

Notice of Non-discriminatory Policy