Loyola University Chicago

Loyola University Chicago

University Newsroom


Media Contact:
Steve Christensen
Communications Manager

Loyola University Chicago School of Social Work
Receives Gift, Launches New Institutes
$500,000 Professorship to Rotate Among Directors of School’s New Institutes

CHICAGO, October 27, 2008—With the support of a $500,000 gift from Carol and the late Lucien Matusak (MD ’46), Loyola’s School of Social Work (SSW) has established three new institutes to focus on major issues facing not only the social work field but also the country as a whole.

The Matusaks’ generous gift has been placed into an endowment fund that will support a professorship that will rotate among the directors of the three institutes. Dr. Vidal de Haymes is first to receive funding from the gift, and her institute already has a number of projects underway.

“We are creating a migration studies specialization, placing Loyola students in migrant source, transit, and destination communities, and offering opportunities for foreign students to participate in professional and service placements in the U.S.,” Vidal de Haymes says. “We are an interdisciplinary institute involved in transnational research, and are excited to work with many of Loyola’s schools and colleges to coordinate and execute programs of research, instruction, and service.”

“The development and foundation of these institutes shows our commitment to these specific areas, and they are the future of our school,” says Jack Wall, PhD, dean, SSW. “Each institute will receive three years of support from the Matusaks’ gift, and so many will benefit from their generosity.”

About the School of Social Work
Founded in 1914 and accredited since 1921, Loyola University Chicago’s School of Social Work educates students to become clinical social worker leaders. The school’s curriculum addresses contemporary clinical, community, and social issues encountered by social workers in practice, and its graduate degrees are distinctive for their strong focus on both clinical and leadership skills. For more information, visit LUC.edu/socialwork.

About Loyola University Chicago
Committed to preparing people to lead extraordinary lives, Loyola University Chicago was founded in 1870 and is the nation’s largest Jesuit, Catholic university. Loyola has a total enrollment of more than 15,600 students, which includes more than 10,000 undergraduates hailing from all 50 states and 82 foreign countries. The University has four campuses: three in the greater Chicago area and one in Rome, Italy. Loyola also serves as the U.S. host university to the Beijing Center for Chinese Studies in Beijing, China. Loyola’s ten schools and colleges include arts and sciences, business administration, communication, education, graduate studies, law, medicine, nursing, continuing and professional studies, and social work. Loyola offers 71 undergraduate majors, 71 undergraduate minors, 85 master’s degrees, and 31 doctoral degrees. Recognizing Loyola’s excellence in education, U.S. News & World Report has ranked Loyola consistently among the “top national universities,” and named the University a “best value” in its 2009 rankings. For more information, please visit LUC.edu.




LOYOLA UNIVERSITY CHICAGO · 1032 W. Sheridan Rd., Chicago, IL 60660 · 773.274.3000

Notice of Non-discriminatory Policy