Loyola University Chicago

Loyola University Chicago

University Newsroom


Media Contact:
Steve Christensen
Communications Manager
(312) 915-6164

Loyola University Chicago Set to Honor Its Own
Fifth Annual Founders’ Dinner Awardees Names

CHICAGO, June 1, 2006 — Loyola University Chicago announced today its Founders’ Dinner 2006 award recipients, which will be honored at a gala this Saturday evening, June 3. Given annually, the prestigious Founders’ Dinner awards honor those who have established Loyola, those who have built on that foundation, those who continue to give it life today, and those whose vision looks toward the future.

This year’s recipients include The Honorable Mary Ann G. McMorrow, School of Law 1953 (The President’s Medal), John Felice, M.A. ’72, Doctor of Humane Letters, Honoris Causa ’96 (Heart of Loyola), Alice B. Hayes, Ph.D., B.S. ’59 (Coffey Award) and Joyce D. Knight, College of Arts and Sciences (Dux Mirabilis Award).

Additionally, each of Loyola’s schools and colleges also honors an alumnus(a) with the Damen Award. This year’s Damen Award winners include: College of Arts and Sciences-Philip J. Caputo; School of Business Administration-Stephanie S. Springs; School of Education-Robert H. Jordan, Jr., Ph.D.; The Graduate School-Sr. Suzanne Zuercher, O.S.B.; School of Law-Bernard J. Beazley; Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing-Sandra Millon Underwood, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N.; School of Social Work-Jill E. Manske; Stritch School of Medicine-Gregory J. Matz, M.D. and School of Continuing and Professional Studies-Yman Huang Vien.

In its fifth year, Loyola’s Founders’ Dinner continues to be one of the biggest highlights of the year for members of the University community, evidenced by the near-record number of RSVPs for Saturday’s event. This year, attendees will enjoy a spectacular multi-course dinner amidst glittering décor, video tributes to awardees and the unique musical stylings of the Founders’ Dinner Chorus (made up of faculty, staff, students and alumni) and Absolute Harmony (Loyola’s all-alumni a cappella vocal jazz quintet). For more information on the 2006 Founders’ Dinner and its award recipients, please visit www.luc.edu/founders/main.shtml.

About Loyola University Chicago
Committed to preparing people to lead extraordinary lives, Loyola University Chicago was founded in 1870 and is among the largest of the 28 Jesuit colleges and universities in the United States. Loyola has a total enrollment of more than 14,000 students, which includes 9,000 undergraduates hailing from all 50 states and 82 foreign countries. The University has four campuses: three in the greater Chicago area and one in Rome, Italy. Loyola also serves as the U.S. host university to the Beijing Center for Chinese Studies in Beijing, China. Loyola’s nine schools and colleges include: arts and sciences, business administration, education, graduate studies, law, medicine, nursing, professional studies and social work. Loyola offers 66 undergraduate majors, 59 master’s degrees, 36 doctoral degrees and three professional degree programs. Recognizing Loyola’s excellence in education, U.S. News and World Report has ranked Loyola consistently among the “top national universities” and “best values” in its annual publications. For more information, please visit our web site at www.luc.edu.




LOYOLA UNIVERSITY CHICAGO · 1032 W. Sheridan Rd., Chicago, IL 60660 · 773.274.3000

Notice of Non-discriminatory Policy