Loyola University Chicago

Loyola University Chicago

University Newsroom


Media Contact:
Steve Christensen
Manager, Communications

Loyola University Chicago Names Five New Members to Board of Trustees

October 24, 2005, Chicago, IL Loyola University Chicago announces the addition of five new members to the university’s Board of Trustees, unanimously electing Michael J. Carbon, M.D., Ronald E. Daly, Terry E. Newman, Robert L. Parkinson, Jr. and Smita N. Shah.

“We are very excited to have all five of these distinguished individuals join our Board,” said Loyola President Michael Garanzini, S.J. “They are a well-respected group with a passion for Loyola and Chicago, and their election is an important addition to this University. As experienced leaders and visionaries in their respective fields, each member is an exceptional fit for this significant leadership role.”

Michael J. Carbon, M.D.
Dr. Carbon attended Loyola University Chicago from 1958 to 1961 before entering medical school at the University of Illinois and later earning his MD in 1965. He currently is in private practice at Nephrology Associates of Northern Illinois in Oak Park. Dr.Carbon is affiliated with the Civic Orchestra and the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. He and his wife, Dorothy (a 1962 graduate of Mundelein College), live in Oak Brook, IL.

Ronald E. Daly
Mr. Daly, currently a private investor, earned a BA in business from Governors State University and an MBA from Loyola University Chicago in 1980. From 1964 to 2002 he worked for R.R.Donnelley & Sons, where he began his career as proofreader, and later went on to hold the position of senior vice president for various operations within the company. From 2002-04 he served as president and CEO of Oce USA Holding Inc. Mr. Daly is involved with many organizations, including the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. He has been an adjunct faculty member in the School of Business Administration (SBA), and an active member of the SBA Board of Advisors at Loyola since 2002. He and his wife, Dolores, live in Chicago.

Terry E. Newman
Mr. Newman, an attorney at law, earned a BA in Political Science from Loyola University Chicago in 1971 and a JD from DePaul University in 1977. He concentrates his practice of law in real estate and is a partner at Katten Muchin Zavis Rosenman. He is currently the chair of the Illinois Housing Development Authority, and is a member of the board of trustees of the City Colleges of Chicago. He also serves on the Boards of the Chicago Cultural Center Foundation, The Public Art Endowment, the Museum of Science and Industry, The Arts Matter-Gallery 37 and After School Matters. Mr. Newman resides in Chicago.

Robert L. Parkinson, Jr.
Mr. Parkinson is Chairman and CEO of Baxter International Inc., and a two-time Loyola alum, having earned a BA in Business Administration in 1973 and an MBA in 1975. He worked at Abbott Laboratories in various management and senior management capacities for approximately 25 years. He also served as Loyola’s dean of the School of Business Administration before joining Baxter in 2004. Active on many industry boards and community organizations, Mr. Parkinson serves on the board of directors for Northwestern Memorial Hospital and Northwestern Memorial Foundation. He and his wife, Elizabeth (CAS ’75), currently reside in Northbrook, IL.

Smita N. Shah
Ms. Shah earned a BS in civil engineering from Northwestern University in 1994 and an MS in civil and environmental engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. She is president of SPAAN Technologies, a Chicago based engineering firm she established circa 1998. Ms. Shah is a member of the 2005 Human Rights Watch Chicago Committee and is involved with the Indo-American Leadership Council within the Democratic National Committee. She is also a founding member of Loyola’s Council of Regents and currently resides in Chicago.
For a complete listing of Loyola University Chicago’s Board of Trustees, please visit www.luc.edu/about/trustees.shtml.

About Loyola University Chicago
Committed to preparing people to lead extraordinary lives, Loyola University Chicago was founded in 1870 and is among the largest of the 28 Jesuit colleges and universities in the United States. Loyola has a total enrollment of 14,000 students, which includes 8,500 undergraduates, hailing from all 50 states, as well as 82 foreign countries. The University has four campuses, three in the greater Chicago area and one in Rome, Italy. Loyola’s nine schools and colleges include: arts and sciences, business administration, education, graduate studies, law, medicine, nursing, professional studies and social work. Loyola offers 66 undergraduate majors, 59 master’s degrees and 36 doctoral degrees and 3 professional degree programs. Recognizing Loyola’s excellence in education, U.S. News and World Report has ranked Loyola consistently among the “top national universities” and “best values” in its annual publications. For more information, please visit our web site at www.luc.edu.




LOYOLA UNIVERSITY CHICAGO · 1032 W. Sheridan Rd., Chicago, IL 60660 · 773.274.3000

Notice of Non-discriminatory Policy