Loyola University Chicago

Loyola University Chicago

University Newsroom


Tanya Cochran

Fourth Year of Who Wants to Win a Scholarship?
Program Offers Students Full-Tuition Scholarships


“Who Wants to Win a Scholarship?” will award four winning Chicago public high school students with full-tuition scholarships to Loyola University Chicago, DePaul University, Northeastern Illinois University and Roosevelt University. Using a popular game show format, the contest emphasizes that learning is fun by challenging students with academic questions. Each student will get one teacher-lifeline phone call to a pre-selected teacher at his or her school.


The four programs will be taped over two days, Tuesday, April 6, and Wednesday, April 7, at the CAN TV studio, 322 S. Green Street, Chicago. Contestants arrive for the morning tapings between 8:30-9 a.m., and between 12:30-1 p.m. for the afternoon tapings.

Broadcast Dates:

All programs will air on Channel 21 at 11 a.m. in the following sequence: DePaul, Monday, April 26; Loyola, Tuesday, April 27; Northeastern Illinois, Wednesday, April 28; and Roosevelt, Thursday, April 29. All the programs will be re-broadcast on Channel 19 on Saturday, May 1, beginning at 4 p.m.


Forty competitors will represent the following GEAR UP high schools: Clemente, Dunbar, Farragut, Foreman, Hyde Park, Kelvyn Park, Manley, Mather, Roosevelt, Senn and Westinghouse. The competition is an initiative of DePaul, Loyola Northeastern Illinois and Roosevelt in partnership with the Chicago Access Network Television and the Chicago GEAR UP Alliance. The alliance-a consortium of universities, Chicago public schools, education and business groups-received a five-year, $31 million grant known as GEAR UP (Gaining Early Awareness and Readiness for Undergraduate Programs) from the U.S. Department of Education to design initiatives such as this to encourage young people to stay in school and to think about going to college.




LOYOLA UNIVERSITY CHICAGO · 1032 W. Sheridan Rd., Chicago, IL 60660 · 773.274.3000

Notice of Non-discriminatory Policy