It has been a busy fall semester for the Marcella Niehoff School of Nursing (MNSON). After officially dedicating the Niehoff School’s brand new building in Maywood, two Niehoff faculty members were awarded with distinct honors at the American Academy of Nursing’s 39th annual meeting and conference in Washington DC.

Vicki Keough, PhD, RN, APN/ACNP-BC, dean of the MNSON, was inducted as a fellow into the academy, one of the most prestigious honors in the nursing profession.

Along with being recognized for one’s accomplishments, being inducted as a fellow assumes a responsibility to dedicate time outside of the Academy with other health care leaders to transform the health care system.

Dean Keough also teaches at the MNSON and serves as an emergency nurse practitioner at the Loyola University Medical Center. In addition to her commitments to the University, Dean Keough is an author, researcher, and research peer reviewer.

Other MNSON alumnae inducted as fellows were Catherine Catrambone (’78), Mary Johnson (’97), and Janis Miller (’88).

Additionally, Nola Pender, PhD, RN, FAAN, a distinguished professor at the MNSON, was officially named one of four “Living Legends” by the academy at the conference.

This distinction is considered the academy’s highest recognition. The first award was presented in 1994, and 82 Living Legends have been honored since then.

To be eligible, a nominee must have been a fellow in the academy for at least 15 years, be sponsored by three other fellows, and have nominations that both address his or her substantial contribution to the field and provide evidence of continued impact.

Pender has been recognized for her theory-based research and implementing that research into nursing practices as part of her overall achievements as a nursing professor, research, and author.