Pictured Left to Right: Chris Skrable, Nicole Remy, Aaron Cooper, Stephanie Atella, David deBoer, Annie Busiek, Frank O’Toole, Vivian Xu, and Brendan Keating

The reception to honor the University’s annual Staff Recognition and Excellence Award winners took place on November 6 on the Water Tower Campus, in Regents Hall.

This annual  initiative recognizes the commitment and dedication of staff members who are exceptional at advancing Loyola University Chicago’s professional mission of preparing people to lead extraordinary lives. Staff members are recognized for their professional contributions and the quality of their service to the University. All regular staff members, full-time and part-time, are eligible and can be nominated by members of the Loyola community.

2012 Award Recipients:

Stephanie Atella, Health Educator, Wellness Center

Advancement Team, University Marketing and Communication (Aaron Cooper, Annie Busiek, Frank O’Toole, and Brendan Keating)

Christopher Skrable, Coordinator for Service Learning, Center for Experiential Learning

David De Boer, Associate Director, Wellness Center

Nicole Remy, Area Coordinator, Staff Development and Training, Department of Residence Life

Remy says she was honored to receive the Staff Member of the Year Award. “I am so appreciative of the many opportunities that have been available to me at Loyola, and I am grateful especially to work in such a supportive environment with colleagues who contribute to my development as a professional” she says. “The awards ceremony was a great opportunity to recognize the accomplishments of staff across the University and it was an honor to be recognized among a group of fantastic nominees.”

Also at the event, the University Staff Council unveiled its inaugural Monthly Commitment to Excellence Award winner for the month of October. This new award, established by the Staff Council, is an opportunity to honor the outstanding achievements of staff members worthy of distinction on a monthly basis. The first recipient for this new award was Vivian Xu from the financial planning and budgeting department.

Looking ahead, nominations for the monthly award can be submitted online each month and must be in by 5 p.m. on the 15th of every month. Winners will then be notified on the last day of each month.

For more information on the criteria, nomination, and election process for the yearly Staff Recognition and Excellence Awards, as well as the new Monthly Commitment to Excellence Award, visit LUC.edu/staffcouncil.